Fibonacci Sequence

The Fibonacci Sequence is the primary yoga class of the Jai Sugrim Method.

This is a strict vinyasa krama practice, in the sense that the breath is counted from beginning to end, in a perfect metronomic rhythm. This is a yoga Master Class, fit for teachers and skillful practitioners who wish to experience the benefits of an unbroken ujjayi breathing practice, that engages their entire body and physiology. This sequence is used for all Jai Sugrim Method Yoga Teacher Trainings, and is memorized from beginning to end, breath by breath, by each student of the Method.

This is the only yoga sequence you will ever need. It is a complete practice that can lead to optimal health and mental equanimity. When practiced consistently, you will develop proficiency and have favorable results.

The Fibonacci Sequence is a Vinyasa Krama Practice

Vinyasa krama is the synchronized movement of yoga asanas through various stages in order to achieve a specific goal. Most commonly, this goal is to progress from simple asana to more advanced asanas. The term comes from the Sanskrit, vi, meaning “order,” nyasa, meaning “placement,” and krama, meaning succession.

Vinyasa refers to practicing a sequence of asanas that are synchronized with the breath. Each movement in the vinyasa krama sequence is linked to an inhalation or an exhalation and each asana becomes a step within the flow. Like this, the yogi learns to listen to his/her body and when it is ready to advance to a more challenging asana.

Rather than performing each asana as an independent pose disconnected from the whole, vinyasa krama mimics the flowing energy of the universe. The mind, body and breath are unified into a state of harmony.

This 90 minute class is appropriate for those with an established vinyasa yoga practice. You need a moderate level of fitness, and some experience with rhythmic breathing in order to flow proficiently through the sequence of postures.

The Fibonacci Sequence will help you master the experience of Mula Bandah (the root lock) and Uddiyana Bandah (the flying up lock). It is similar to the Ashtanga Yoga Primary Series, minus the adaptive response required by half lotus and full lotus postures. In this way it spares the knees, while keeping a strong focus on the 3 key elements of a solid vinyasa yoga practice: Breath (equanimous inhale and exhale), Bandah (subtle internal awareness) and Drishti (focused gaze and intention).

Practicing this class three to five times per week will make one skillful in “self control”. The nervous and vestibular systems will be toned as your sense of balance increases, and your connection to the earth deepens.

Challenge Yourself

Practice this sequence 5 days per week, for 4 weeks in a row. Notice how awareness of your breath, will influence your jump throughs and your transitions from one asana to the next. This sequence has the power and potential to greatly deepen your body awareness, neuronal sensitivity and sense of inner peace. It creates a tranquil mind, mental stability, and increases compassion for all living beings.

This practice pairs well with these additional tools and resources:

1. Ujjayi Breathing Tutorial

2. Meditation Challenge 10 practice pack

3. Walking Mantra Meditation- “Om Gam Ganapataye Namah”

Enjoy your practice

We train to master our own Mind